Forums HomeRegisterSearchFAQRulesUsergroupsLog in
Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
PDXLAN Forum Index » General Discussion All times are UTC - 8 hours This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Author Message
Notoes
Internet King
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)




Posts: 1196

Location:
In your modem

Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
Tomorrow (3/28), we are upgrading our dump trucks to provide new speed tiers for free in the West Division FOR RESIDENTIAL (NOT COMMERCIAL) . I'll make this short and sweet, reboot your modem in the morning.

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

For those who still have an old DOCSIS 2 modem - Go here to upgrade, or buy a capable D3 device online - http://www.comcast.com/deviceu.....irect=true

For those who have actual Comcast related questions feel free to post.

_________________
Comcast Internet Sponsor
http://www.mixcloud.com/fridaytranceproject/
Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:44 pm
View user's profile Send private message   XFire Address Post
DarthBeavis
Lt. Colonel
Lt. Colonel




Posts: 10771

Location:
salem, Oregon

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
Notoes wrote:
Tomorrow (3/2Cool, we are upgrading our dump trucks to provide new speed tiers for free in the West Division FOR RESIDENTIAL (NOT COMMERCIAL) . I'll make this short and sweet, reboot your modem in the morning.

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

For those who still have an old DOCSIS 2 modem - Go here to upgrade, or buy a capable D3 device online - http://www.comcast.com/deviceu.....irect=true

For those who have actual Comcast related questions feel free to post.


when do I get my upgrade ?

I has bidness class

_________________
Blah Blah Blah
Wed Mar 27, 2013 1:10 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
[LG]Zlog
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant




Posts: 2011

Location:
Ridgefield, WA.

Reply with quote
^ Yeah, what he said!

_________________
Intel i5-4670K | 16GB Crucial Ballistix | nVidia GTX-780 OC | ASRock Z87E-ITX | Crucial RealSSD C300 128GB SSD | EVGA Hadron Air Mini-ITX Case w/ 500 PSU
Wed Mar 27, 2013 2:59 pm
View user's profile Send private message   XFire Address Post
Vector
PDXLAN Founder
General
General




Posts: 12359

Location:
Portland Area

Reply with quote
Q1: Current Price Plans for these?

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

Q2: Do I need to have any other Cable Service at my house to get Comcast Internet?

Q3: Is there still a limit on how much I can download?

Q4: If I order thru you, can I get you to install it?

_________________

= V e c t o r =

| Events run: 60 | LAN Events attended 100+ | Sanity remaining: 0 |

Gaming Rig: | Intel 5930 | EVGA X99 Classified | SLI GTX 980x2 | 32GB Crucial DDR4 | 256GB x2 512GB SSD Raid | 9TB Storage |
Small Rig: | Intel 4670k | EVGA Z87 Stinger | GTX 780-Ti | 16GB Crucial Tracer | 512GBx2 Crucial M4 SSD | EVGA Hadron Case
Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:10 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website MSN Messenger XFire Address Post
citizenskippy
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant




Posts: 203

Reply with quote
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?
Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:23 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
Capn
Sergeant
Sergeant




Posts: 178

Location:
Tacoma, WA

Reply with quote
Comcast needs to do these upgrades up in WA, and for commercial :<
Or just raise/get rid of the bandwidth caps so I can finally ditch commercial lol
Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:36 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website AIM Address Post
Offspring
Corporal
Corporal




Posts: 50

Location:
Boulder Creek, CA

Reply with quote
Vector wrote:
Q1: Current Price Plans for these?

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

Q2: Do I need to have any other Cable Service at my house to get Comcast Internet?

Q3: Is there still a limit on how much I can download?

Q4: If I order thru you, can I get you to install it?


I can actually answer #2, because I found out about a month ago that they dropped the caps for whatever reason. It's quite awesome. They did it back in June.
Wed Mar 27, 2013 3:37 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger XFire Address Post
Notoes
Internet King
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)




Posts: 1196

Location:
In your modem

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
DarthBeavis wrote:


when do I get my upgrade ?

I has bidness class


You still have 4 hour turn around time, static IP support, and no bandwidth limitations/caps

[LG]Zlog wrote:
^ Yeah, what he said!


Insert no you don't comment here, specifically targeted at you.

Vector wrote:
Q1: Current Price Plans for these?

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

Q2: Do I need to have any other Cable Service at my house to get Comcast Internet?

Q3: Is there still a limit on how much I can download?

Q4: If I order thru you, can I get you to install it?


No idea but they aren't changing
No
Not for now to my knowledge, but there is the internet/google to dive into that more
Online is fine, I don't perform installs anymore

citizenskippy wrote:
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?

Who what when where why do you see this? If it this only referring to the wireless gateway then that is just on install and can be chargeable, but connecting to a wireless network doesn't matter for devices on your own time.

Capn wrote:
Comcast needs to do these upgrades up in WA, and for commercial :<
Or just raise/get rid of the bandwidth caps so I can finally ditch commercial lol


Read "WEST, DIVISION", as in Oregon/Washington/Denver etc.
Caps are suspended, but there is this internet link that's on the internet that says nothing about what I'm talking about other than what you read on this internet http://customer.comcast.com/he.....-launching

_________________
Comcast Internet Sponsor
http://www.mixcloud.com/fridaytranceproject/
Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:28 pm
View user's profile Send private message   XFire Address Post
citizenskippy
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant




Posts: 203

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
Quote:

citizenskippy wrote:
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?

Who what when where why do you see this? If it this only referring to the wireless gateway then that is just on install and can be chargeable, but connecting to a wireless network doesn't matter for devices on your own time.


http://www.comcast.com/About/P.....irect=true

It's in this 2011 press release and was in the materials my friends read.

"Multiple Connections - With Comcast Home Networking, users can connect up to five computers or entertainment/information devices to one high-speed Internet account."
Wed Mar 27, 2013 4:55 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
DarthBeavis
Lt. Colonel
Lt. Colonel




Posts: 10771

Location:
salem, Oregon

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
citizenskippy wrote:
Quote:

citizenskippy wrote:
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?

Who what when where why do you see this? If it this only referring to the wireless gateway then that is just on install and can be chargeable, but connecting to a wireless network doesn't matter for devices on your own time.


http://www.comcast.com/About/P.....irect=true

It's in this 2011 press release and was in the materials my friends read.

"Multiple Connections - With Comcast Home Networking, users can connect up to five computers or entertainment/information devices to one high-speed Internet account."


How would they know if you were behind a router using NAT? They going to monitor MAC addresses?

_________________
Blah Blah Blah
Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:05 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
manbeast
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant




Posts: 2348

Location:
Ridgefield WA

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
citizenskippy wrote:
Quote:

citizenskippy wrote:
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?

Who what when where why do you see this? If it this only referring to the wireless gateway then that is just on install and can be chargeable, but connecting to a wireless network doesn't matter for devices on your own time.


http://www.comcast.com/About/P.....irect=true

It's in this 2011 press release and was in the materials my friends read.

"Multiple Connections - With Comcast Home Networking, users can connect up to five computers or entertainment/information devices to one high-speed Internet account."


I could totally be wrong, but i believe there is a networking package you can purchase, and this might be the maximum number of devices comcast themselves would set up. Their device certainly is not limited to 5 connections.

Having more devices means nothing to them, just bandwidth (and they aren't enforcing a cap on that at this point, either). You'll be able to do more than 5 if you set it up yourself.

I do all my networking so I would not know if this is exactly how it goes, but we had a similar system when I was working for Charter.

_________________
*Lyons Technology Solutions*
https://www.facebook.com/Lyonstech
Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:14 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website XFire Address Post
Vector
PDXLAN Founder
General
General




Posts: 12359

Location:
Portland Area

Reply with quote
Why are the upgraded performance numbers less than what is advertised on the site.

http://wwwb.comcast.com/internet-service.html

I am not posting this stuff to annoy you Kyle, I am actually looking at making the move.

_________________

= V e c t o r =

| Events run: 60 | LAN Events attended 100+ | Sanity remaining: 0 |

Gaming Rig: | Intel 5930 | EVGA X99 Classified | SLI GTX 980x2 | 32GB Crucial DDR4 | 256GB x2 512GB SSD Raid | 9TB Storage |
Small Rig: | Intel 4670k | EVGA Z87 Stinger | GTX 780-Ti | 16GB Crucial Tracer | 512GBx2 Crucial M4 SSD | EVGA Hadron Case
Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:21 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website MSN Messenger XFire Address Post
Vector
PDXLAN Founder
General
General




Posts: 12359

Location:
Portland Area

Reply with quote
Vector wrote:
Why are the upgraded performance numbers less than what is advertised on the site.

http://wwwb.comcast.com/internet-service.html

I am not posting this stuff to annoy you Kyle, I am actually looking at making the move.



Weird, I put in my address and now I get 20/4 ...but for the same cost.

_________________

= V e c t o r =

| Events run: 60 | LAN Events attended 100+ | Sanity remaining: 0 |

Gaming Rig: | Intel 5930 | EVGA X99 Classified | SLI GTX 980x2 | 32GB Crucial DDR4 | 256GB x2 512GB SSD Raid | 9TB Storage |
Small Rig: | Intel 4670k | EVGA Z87 Stinger | GTX 780-Ti | 16GB Crucial Tracer | 512GBx2 Crucial M4 SSD | EVGA Hadron Case
Wed Mar 27, 2013 5:23 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Visit poster's website MSN Messenger XFire Address Post
DigitalMidget
Staff Comedian
Colonel (Staff)
Colonel (Staff)




Posts: 1123

Re: Comcast/Xfinity Speed Upgrades Reply with quote
iirc what he said ( manbeast). the five devices is how many the technician will put on the wireless for you if you order the home networking product

manbeast wrote:
citizenskippy wrote:
Quote:

citizenskippy wrote:
Q5: When Comcast/Xfinity says "up to five devices" does that mean if a house has two phones, 4 computers, a Wii, etc. then only 5 can connect to the router at once?

Who what when where why do you see this? If it this only referring to the wireless gateway then that is just on install and can be chargeable, but connecting to a wireless network doesn't matter for devices on your own time.


http://www.comcast.com/About/P.....irect=true

It's in this 2011 press release and was in the materials my friends read.

"Multiple Connections - With Comcast Home Networking, users can connect up to five computers or entertainment/information devices to one high-speed Internet account."


I could totally be wrong, but i believe there is a networking package you can purchase, and this might be the maximum number of devices comcast themselves would set up. Their device certainly is not limited to 5 connections.

Having more devices means nothing to them, just bandwidth (and they aren't enforcing a cap on that at this point, either). You'll be able to do more than 5 if you set it up yourself.

I do all my networking so I would not know if this is exactly how it goes, but we had a similar system when I was working for Charter.


_________________
Doc: That's one worried frog.
Count: That's ONE! One worried frog!
Robin: Well, he's not the only one.
Count: That's TWO! Two worried frogs! Ha ha ha ha!
Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:20 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
Notoes
Internet King
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)
Lt. Colonel (Honorary)




Posts: 1196

Location:
In your modem

Reply with quote
Vector wrote:
Why are the upgraded performance numbers less than what is advertised on the site.

http://wwwb.comcast.com/internet-service.html

I am not posting this stuff to annoy you Kyle, I am actually looking at making the move.


Not live/fully deployed Nationally until tomorrow would be my first guestimation, I'll ask my marketing folks tomorrow, to also add, even if you did order 15 meg tier tomorrow/tonight etc, the bootfiles are being updated tonight, so regardless you'd get the new speed package as it's done at a server side level and not at your specific device.

_________________
Comcast Internet Sponsor
http://www.mixcloud.com/fridaytranceproject/
Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:40 pm
View user's profile Send private message   XFire Address Post
SpoonDogSVT
Lt. Colonel (Mod)
Lt. Colonel (Mod)




Posts: 482

Location:
Oregon City, OR

Reply with quote
Thanks for the 'heads up' Notes!

_________________
"I came here to kick ass and assign IPv4 addresses. And I'm all out of IPv4 addresses." --secretsquirrel
Wed Mar 27, 2013 8:50 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
Mouse
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant




Posts: 833

Location:
PDX

Reply with quote
What about us on 105/20 already? Moar speeds? Price Drop?

_________________
Xbox Live: Smileymouse
Steam: Smileymouse
Wow Primary Toon: smileymouse

<3O~
Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:11 pm
View user's profile Send private message   AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger XFire Address Post
jlackner19
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant




Posts: 1896

Location:
Battle Ground, WA

Reply with quote
Offspring wrote:
Vector wrote:
Q1: Current Price Plans for these?

Performance 15/3 -> 20/4
Blast! 25/4 -> 50/10
Extreme 50 -> 105/20

Q2: Do I need to have any other Cable Service at my house to get Comcast Internet?

Q3: Is there still a limit on how much I can download?

Q4: If I order thru you, can I get you to install it?


I can actually answer #2, because I found out about a month ago that they dropped the caps for whatever reason. It's quite awesome. They did it back in June.


I can agree to this as my wife was using A TON of netflix as we had no cable. We where up as high as 350-400 gb according to my router

_________________
Jeromy L.
LAN 16.5, 17, 18.5, 19 & soon 20.5

I5-2500, 8gb 1333mh, Intel DH67GD, SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250gb, 1.5 tb Seagate, GTX 670
Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:37 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
rephlex
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant




Posts: 1019

Reply with quote
Mouse wrote:
What about us on 105/20 already? Moar speeds? Price Drop?


you get nothing.

_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I wonder how many mice Potshotscott will break because of me..
And give me the bird..
Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:50 pm
View user's profile Send private message   AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Post
nickmarine
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant




Posts: 1487

Location:
Elk Grove, California

Reply with quote
Mine went from 23/3 ro 37/5 and all I did was reboot my modem

8^)

Nick

_________________
"Practice, practice, practice and when your not practicing, practice."
Fatal1ty
Wed Mar 27, 2013 11:38 pm
View user's profile Send private message   Post
Display posts from previous:    
PDXLAN Forum Index » General Discussion View next topic
View previous topic
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Page 1 of 5
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Spork and Offbeat Hosting
© 2009 PDXLAN